Online Now 641

Cats pull in SEC coaches' awards

Nerlens Noel's knee injury may have cut his season short but it didn't change his value to Kentucky's basketball team. The freshman forward made an impression on Southeastern Conference coaches, winning a slew of the league's postseason awards.

Kyle Wiltjer was named SEC Sixth Man of the Year

In a vote of the league's coaches Noel was named SEC Freshman of the Year, SEC Defensive Player of the Year, First Team All-SEC, All-Freshman Team and All-Defensive Team. The freshman blocked 106 shots in 24 games before suffering a season-ending knee injury on Feb. 12 but that total was still good for third all-time on the SEC's list for blocks by a freshman, trailing only Anthony Davis' 186 and Shaquille O'Neal's 115.

Noel was the fourth consecutive SEC Freshman of the Year from Kentucky, following Davis (2012), Terrence Jones (2011) and DeMarcus Cousins (2010). Patrick Patterson also won the award 9n 2008, giving the Cats five of the past six honorees.

Kentucky was well represented on the All-Freshman Team, with Willie Cauley-Stein, Archie Goodwin and Alex Poythress also being honored. Sophomore Kyle Wiltjer won the league's Sixth Man of the Year award.

Georgia's Kentavious Caldwell-Pope was named SEC Player of the Year, while Florida's Billy Donovan earned Coach of the Year honors after the Gators won the league's regular season championship.

Erik Murphy, Florida, Sr.
Elston Turner, Texas A&M, Sr.
Jordan McRae, Tennessee, Jr.
Phil Pressey, Missouri, Jr.
Trevor Releford, Alabama, Jr.
Kentavious Caldwell-Pope, Georgia, So.
Johnny O'Bryant III, LSU, So.
Nerlens Noel, Kentucky, Fr.

Michael Carrera, South Carolina
Willie Cauley-Stein, Kentucky
Michael Frazier II, Florida
Archie Goodwin, Kentucky
Charles Mann, Georgia
Nerlens Noel, Kentucky
Alex Poythress, Kentucky

Craig Sword, Miss. State
Gavin Ware, Miss. State

Reginald Buckner, Ole Miss, Sr.
Trevor Releford, Alabama, Jr.
Scottie Wilbekin, Florida, Jr.
Patric Young, Florida, Jr.
Anthony Hickey, LSU, So.
Nerlens Noel, Kentucky, Fr.

SEC Player of the Year: Caldwell-Pope, Georgia
SEC Coach of the Year: Billy Donovan, Florida
SEC Freshman of the Year: Nerlens Noel, Kentucky
SEC Sixth Man of the Year: Kyle Wiltjer, Kentucky
SEC Defensive Player of the Year: Nerlens Noel, Kentucky

Already have an account? Sign In